Convento de las Dueñas - From Chiostro, Spain
The Convento de las Dueñas is a convent located in the Spanish city of Salamanca. Founded in 1419 by Alfonso García de Villadiego and his wife, Inés de Hinojosa, it was built over the ruins of an old fortress and provided a safe haven for religious women of noble birth. The convent was originally dedicated to St. Augustine, but was ultimately closed in 1835. The convent is renowned for its Gothic and Romanesque architecture as well as for its celebrated 16th-century cloister, which has been described as one of the gems of the city. The cloister is a two-story rotunda built around an open courtyard and decorated with pointed arches, slender marble columns, and a variety of intricate decorations. The convent is open to the public, and visitors can take guided tours of the cloister and the other areas of the convent. Aside from the convent, the complex also includes a museum, library, and chapel. Also part of the complex is Nuestra Señora de las Nieves church, which includes a significant collection of 16th and 17th-century paintings.